SIJHL announces playoff format and timeline

THUNDER BAY, Ont. – The Superior International Junior Hockey League announced Thursday its playoff format and timeline for the upcoming postseason.

The first round of the SIJHL playoffs will feature a pair of best-of-five quarter-final series, which are slated to run between March 20-27.

Those match-ups will see the No. 3 seeded side taking on the No. 6 Minnesota Iron Rangers while the other series will have the No. 4 and No. 5 ranked clubs squaring off.

Meanwhile the SIJHL’s regular season title holder and the No. 2 seeded squad will earn first round byes.

Semifinal action will then see two best-of-seven affairs taking place from March 28 through April 11.

One series will see the No. 1 rated team meeting the lowest seeded club with the other two remaining clubs meeting in the other match-up.

From there the two semifinal winners will square off in the Bill Salonen Cup league championship series in another best-of-seven set that is slated to go from April 13-24.

The SIJHL champion will then join the Dryden GM Ice Dogs at the Dudley-Hewitt Cup May 1-5 at Dryden’s Memorial Arena.

Should the GM Ice Dogs repeat as league champions, then the Bill Salonen Cup finalist will also represent the SIJHL at the four-team event, which will also feature the title holders from the Northern Ontario Junior Hockey League and the Ontario Junior Hockey League taking part.

The Dudley-Hewitt Cup winner will then advance to represent the Central region at the RBC Cup Canadian national Jr. A event, May 12-20 in Chilliwack, B.C.

At the RBC, the host Chilliwack Chiefs (BCHL) will go up against the Dudley-Hewitt Cup champion, the titleist from the Fred Page Cup (East) as well as the winners from both the ANAVET Cup (MJHL/SJHL) and the Doyle Cup (AJHL/BCHL).

All SIJHL playoff and Dudley-Hewitt Cup games will be streamed live online via

SIJHL Playoff Timeline

First Round (Quarter-finals)
Best-of-Five Series
March 20-27
No. 1 seed – BYE
No. 2 seed – BYE
Series A: No. 3 vs. No. 6 Minnesota Iron Rangers
Series B: No. 4 vs. No 5

Second Round (Semifinals)
Best-of-Seven series
March 28-April 11
Series C: No. 1 vs. Lowest remaining seed
Series D: No. 2 vs. 2nd lowest seed

Third Round (Bill Salonen Cup Final)
April 13-24

Best-of-Seven series
Series E: Semifinal Winners

Dudley-Hewitt Cup (Central Canada Jr. A Championship)
May 1-5
Dryden, Ont.
Competing teams
Dryden GM Ice Dogs (SIJHL) (Host)
NOJHL champion
OJHL champion
SIJHL champion or finalist*
DHC winner advances to RBC Cup
* Should Dryden win the Bill Salonen Cup, then the SIJHL finalist will also advance to the DHC

RBC Cup (Canadian Jr. A Championship)
May 12-20
Chilliwack, B.C.
Competing teams
Chilliwack Chiefs (BCHL) (Host)
Dudley-Hewitt Cup champion (Central)
Fred Page Cup champion (East)
ANAVET Cup champions (MJHL/SJHL)
Doyle Cup (AJHL/BCHL)