Dryden GM Ice Dogs’ Jacen Bracko named 2017-18 SIJHL MVP

THUNDER BAY, Ont. – The Superior International Junior Hockey League announced Friday that Dryden GM Ice Dogs forward Jacen Bracko has been named the SIJHL’s Mallon’s Corporate Impressions/Play It Again Sports Most Valuable Player for the 2017-18 season.

Bracko was a unanimous selection for the honour in voting done by each of the SIJHL’s member clubs.

Also nominated for the award were fellow forwards Parker Simonson of the Thief River Falls Norskies and Bradley Thrower of the Thunder Bay North Stars.

In 56 games played, the 20-year-old Calgary, Alta., product led all SIJHL skaters in both goals and points with 48 and 81 respectively.

Bracko also finished in the Top 10 in the league in assists (33), shorthanded markers (3) and game-winning goals (5) as did his nine power play tallies, 12 man advantage helpers and 21 extra man points.

Having yet to miss a game in his SIJHL career, Bracko has 89 goals, 73 assists and 162 points to his credit in 112 contests.

With the honour, Bracko becomes the SIJHL’s nominee for the Canadian Junior Hockey League Player of the Year Award that will be announced at the RBC Cup Canadian Jr. A Championship this May in Chilliwack, B.C.

He becomes the fourth Dryden player in the 17-year history of the SIJHL to capture league MVP honours joining last season’s winner, Braeden Allkins (F), along with Cole Golka (F) and Jon Mitchell (D) who claimed the accolades for the 2014-15 and 2010-11 campaigns respectively.

The following is the list of the SIJHL’s all-time Most Valuable Player recipients:

2017-18: Jacen Bracko, Dryden GM Ice Dogs
2016-17: Braeden Allkins, Dryden GM Ice Dogs
2015-16: Dylan Robertson, Fort Frances Lakers
2014-15: Cole Golka, Dryden GM Ice Dogs
2013-14: Daniel Del Paggio, Thunder Bay North Stars
2012-13: Mike Dietrich, Minnesota Wilderness
2011-12: Byron Katapaytuk, Fort Frances Lakers
2010-11: Jon Mitchell, Dryden Ice Dogs
2009-10: Trevor Gamache, Fort William North Stars
2008-09: Trevor Gamache, Fort William North Stars
2007-08: Quinn Amiel, Fort Frances Jr. Sabres
2006-07: Justin Gvora, Thunder Bay Bearcats
2005-06: Chris Bryson, Schreiber Diesels
2004-05: Nathan Breukelman, Fort William North Stars
2003-04: Kevin Webb, Borderland Thunder
2002-03: Trevor Karasiewicz, Thunder Bay Bulldogs
2001-02: Charly Washipabano, Feathermen Hawks

Photo credit: Leith Dunick, tbnewswatch.com