GM Ice Dogs wrap-up season with online awards banquet

DRYDEN, Ont. –– The 2019-20 Dryden GM Ice Dogs hockey season came to an abrupt halt last month, but the team released an Awards Banquet video via social media that marked its official end to the season.

A total of eleven awards were handed out to the team’s top performers.

As well, outgoing 20-year-old players had the opportunity to share their parting comments about this past season what it meant to be a Dryden GM Ice Dog.

Captain Curtis Magas was named the teams Most Valuable Player this year.

Xavier Halterman brought home two pieces of hardware which included Top Scorer and the Community Service Award.

Top Defensive Forward and Top Local Player were both named to Dylan Winsor.

Rookie of the Year was awarded to Justin Pitari.

Jesse Mistelbacher was named the team’s Most Sportsmanlike player, while Parker James and Nolan Marshall shared the Most Improved Player Award. The California native, James also received the Jim Wright/Fan Favourite Award. Both Amraj Gill and Dylan Di Tomasso secured the Defenseman of the Year title. The Coach’s Award was fitttingly renamed the the Tammy Woitowicz Memorial Coaches Award was shared by this years recipients Jacob Anthony and Josh Weber.

Four 20-year-old players were thanked for their contributions to the team and wished the best of luck in their future plans.

The following players completed their Junior A career in a Dryden GM Ice Dogs jersey: Samson Mouland; Jacob Anthony; Malcolm Heummert and Curtis Magas.

Dr. Adam Moir was acknowledged for his involvement by presenting Jacob Anthony with the Dryden GM Ice Dogs bursary.

The Awards Banquet capped off the 2019-20 season and the Dryden GM Ice Dogs are already making plans for next season.

Dryden GM Ice Dogs award recipients:

Most Valuable Player: Curtis Magas
Top Scorer: Xavier Halterman
Rookie of the Year: Justin Pitari
Most Sportsmanlike: Jesse Mistelbacher
Top Defensive Forward: Dylan Winsor
Top Local Player: Dylan Winsor
Most Improved: Parker James & Nolan Marshall
Defenceman of Year: Amraj Gill & Dylan Di Tomasso
Community Service Award: Xavier Halterman
Coach’s Award: Jacob Anthony & Josh Weber
Fan Favourite: Parker James